Wednesday, November 8, 2017

The Celebration of Bastille Day (Day 3) (Cultural)

I woke up feeling like I got hit by a bus. I felt a sore pain in my neck, but I was still ready for the day. I walked over to the balcony, and as I walked past Ethan, sound asleep in his, "super comfortable chair," and he fell over with a thud, but was still sound asleep. I caught a glimpse of the Eiffel tower and thought back to yesterday, and started chuckling to myself slyly. I still couldn't get over how we got kicked out of the tower, and I started dying laughing. While looking out over the balcony, I saw a very vast, and beautiful terrain, along with beautiful canals, and many decorations. I wondered to myself why there were decorations, but then I realized it was Bastille day. Bastille day is a great holiday in France that celebrated for the public storming the Bastille prison and armory. This occurred in 1789, and it celebrates a turning point in the French Revolution, where the public took matters into their own hands for unity. I looked at the analog alarm clock, and it was 10:00 AM. We slept away almost half of the day. I realized swiftly that we had an uber to catch at 10:20, but no one was up yet. I inhaled sharply, and bellowed a wake up call, "IF YOU GUYS DON'T GET UP I'M GONNA GET ON YOUR HEAD," instant, everyone perked up confused, and realised the time, and started getting dressed. I realised Will was still asleep, and I got a nice full, icy cold water bottle, and dumped it on him. "What the heck, why did you do that!" he shouted. Now everyone was awake, and we all got dressed, and ran out of our hotel room. We were in the lobby, when Gene yelled frightened, "I dropped my Supreme stickers and I can't find them!" No one really cared so we grabbed him, and ran out the door.
It was 10:20 when we got outside, and the uber was waiting for us to get in. We were going to the actual Bastille, so we could celebrate an authentic Bastille day. It took an hour to get there, so we spent our time listening to music, and talking with the uber driver about nice places to go in France. The uber driver only spoke French, so we just acted like we knew what he was saying, and threw in a few, "boobedie bobbedies," and he just laughed. We arrived at the Bastille at 11:40, because traffic was bad, but it was fine because the celebration didn't start until 12. There was a massive crowd waiting for the celebration to commence. We decided to eat lunch before the celebration, so we went to McDonalds. The only thing we've eaten the entire trip is McDonald's, and already Ethan's had to loosen a few buttons on his button down, plaid long sleeve shirt. When we walked out of McDonald's, the celebration was starting, so we ran to get some chairs, but a lot of them were taken. After 15 minutes of walking, we found 4 chairs, and we raced for them. Connor didn't get a seat, but didn't mind, because of his, "jacked vegan body," which made everyone cringe a little. There was a large military parade, that went on for almost 4 hours, which was very boring, but we wanted to stay and get the full experience. There was music playing, concerts, dances and jets that flew overhead, with different colored smoke, to make the French flag in the sky. It was a sight to see, and a good, authentic French celebration of Bastille day. It was 5:30, and we were hungry, so we went back to McDonald's, and all got burgers to go, except Connor, because he's vegan, and could only eat the salad. The sun started setting, and then fireworks were shot off. The amazing light show, of a variety of vibrant and bright colors, exploding throughout the sky. Everyone was taking pictures, but I was standing there in the middle of it, taking it all in.
When the fireworks subsided, we got into another uber to go back to the hotel. This uber driver also only spoke French, but we didn't mess with him this time, and instead just listened to music and took pictures of the scenery. We took a few stops in the uber to use the restroom, and see some nice scenery that the uber driver wanted to see, but we didn't mind. We got back to the hotel at 8:30, and we got into our room, and got ready for bed. Everyone took a shower, and brushed teeth, which took about an hour since there are 5 of us. We all got into bed at 10:15, and it was exactly what we needed, a good rest and clean up. I eventually drifted to sleep, thinking about what crazy adventures would come next.

No comments:

Post a Comment